Naturally, library volunteers aren’t the only ones who deserve accolades. Library service as we know it simply wouldn’t be possible without day-in, day-out commitment from dedicated staff.

Fifteen years ago, the American Library Association established the I Love My Librarian Award as a way to recognize the dedication and achievements of MLIS-level library staff members. Specifically, this annual, national honor is intended to celebrate “librarians who have made a difference in your life and/or gone above and beyond to serve your community.”

Up to ten staff members are honored by ALA each year, and each receives a $5,000 cash prize. To date, the I Love My Librarian program has honored 140 exceptional public servants hailing from all across the country. So far, however, not a single Minnesotan has entered into this hall of fame(!) Could this be the year that changes? 

Click here to learn more about the I Love My Librarian Award. Be sure to submit your candidate no later than Friday, September 30.

Share This Article

Previous Article

July 5, 2023 • 8:53AM

Next Article

July 21, 2023 • 9:54AM